About Furness

The Furness peninsula in south Cumbria includes the towns of Barrow-in-Furness, Ulverston, Dalton-in-Furness, Broughton-in-Furness and Askam.The peninsula delineates the western edge of Morecambe Bay and juts out into the Irish Sea with its southern end dominated by tidal mudflats. Walney island lies off the peninsula's south-west coast.

Barrow is by far the largest town in the Furness district with a population of 60,000. Ulverston and Dalton have populations of just over 11,000.


This website uses cookies to deliver the best experience whilst browsing. More info